I Think

Arnab Goswami

To me dumb people are the biggest source of motivation as well as distress. When I see dumb people doing good, I either feel elated about the idea that if a dumbass can make it big, a smartass like me* can be bigger or turn querulous about the injustice in this world where dumbasses are rewarded and smartasses are in the trenches. I maintain a list of such people and one person who has been steadily climbing to the top of this list is Arnab Goswami.

You have heard me rant about media journalists often enough, I wont complain if you stopped reading here.

The Indian 24-7 news industry has quite a few players now, NDTV, CNN-IBN, Times Now to name a few**. Each has a list of celebrity anchors and reporters, Pranoy Roy, Barkha Dutt, Rajdeep Sardesai, Vikram etc to name a few. Arnab here is trying hard to make it to the list and failing real bad.

To me Pranoy Roy is the giant in this industry, it is him that all the wannabes want to emulate. Pranoy has had a long time to build the credibility and the image that is associated with him. And this is what makes us forgive his idiosyncrasies, like that (mis)calculated over-stretched pause before making a point, the occasional exaggeration of certain minor points. But when Arnab does the same, I feel like putting my foot through the tv. Especially when he does the pause. I think he thinks the pause sends across the message that he his thinking and thinking hard. Nice thinking, except that every time he pauses to think but follows it up with a question like 'so why did juju eat kaka-pee?' when we are discussing national security, you know the pause is more like this…

And then the think he does with his eyes, if only he would think as much as he blinks. It may seem that I am making irrelevant points here, I agree. I wish I could comment on some aspect of his work, but frankly there is nothing much about him beside the pause, blink and the irrelevant question.

*I am much smarter than the average joe. I realised it a month ago.
**I have left out Headlines Today, sensationalist channels dont make it to the list.

Posted via email from Just some random stuff

Standard

One thought on “Arnab Goswami

  1. Venkat says:

    loved this piece..it was hilarious! yeah I’ve got that feeling you speak of several times too. I get really worked up when that other bugger with the intimidating calamitous tone on times now pops up while changing channels..I guess I just have to untune the damn station..lol..really sad we dont have quality people though

Comments are closed.