I Think

Avatar

Saw Avatar finally. All I can say about it is that it is not entirely crap, well it is crap wrapped with shiny paper and satin ribbon and topped with a beautiful ribbon rose. When I read Greg Egan's review(http://gregegan.customer.netspace.net.au/ESSAYS/AVATAR/Avatar.html) a month or so back I thought he was being overly critical, given the overwhelming reception the movie was getting. I think he is right especially when he says..

"…what it really felt like to me was a fourth movie in the Shrek franchise, pipping the yet-to-be-released Shrek Forever After to extrapolate that series' twin curves of rising technical achievement and plumetting wit to their logical endpoint: a near-immaculate feat of visualisation, accompanied by a staggeringly awful plot in which clunky genre conventions triumph completely over plausibility and originality. Avatar even boasts its very own love story where societal expectations and superficial barriers of size and pastelicity are overcome by generous helpings of pixie dust."

I couldnt have put it better.

Posted via email from Just some random stuff

Standard