I Think

Inception

Watched Inception for the second time in as many weeks.

My rating for the movie has gone from ‘good enough’ to ‘meh, i dont care’.

I was pissed off by the ending. The spinning top was a pointless end shot. Now I dont usually expect closure at the end of a movie, I rather enjoy discussing about/marvelling at some of the open ended ones. Scanner Darkly, Primer – examples of movies that end in a classy open manner. But this ending was, I reiterate, pointless. How does the ending make the movie interesting? There are apparently clues that indicate that the entire movie was a dream, so what? And if it isnt, again, so what?

The biggest problem i have with the movie is the visual representation of the inception itself. While a safe is a pretty good metaphor for storing our secrets, the representation of the genesis of an idea as something a person picks out from his vault is, to me, absurd.

The other problem I see is with the defences that a dreamer concocts to protect himself from people who nick secrets. Cobb explains that the defences are like WBC’s that fight against intruders, alright. But why the hell do they have to be human, that too such lousy ones? Its a dream, the dreamer can actually imagine a hell a lot of stuff, that being the case why not put in a couple of dragons or draft in the Fantastic Four to protect oneself, atleast that is what I would have done. The whole defence stuff is woefully explained. What it offers is a chance to bring in guns and anti-gravity fight sequences and spruce up the visuals, it contributes nothing to the plot as such.

The characters, other than that of Cobb were poorly developed. I think I also found a timeline flaw, although that needs confirmation.

The movie is so much like a Shankar flick, an anorexic plot beneath a facade of grand visuals(inception? more like deception). There is nothing wrong with such a flick, but dont tell me it is cerebral.

Esskay thought that the movie was awesome and asked me on our way back how it could have been done better. I know it was a rhetorical question, but I think the movie would have been awesome if it had pushed me into examining the genesis of ideas in my head.

So why the hell did I bother watching it for the second time, well.. er.. who in their right minds would say no to free tickets and a few hours with friends 😀

Standard

5 thoughts on “Inception

    • Blah. blah, blah. Blaaaaaah.

      For those who are wondering what the hell we are talking about, here is a gist, in plain english.

      janani: that was incredibly analytical!! it was awesome!! do you know you are a genius!!

      me: ofcourse i do. wouldnt be much of a genius if i dint even know that. (a highly condescending) silly girl.

      (man.. i am getting good at understanding girl talk)

      • janani says:

        Looks like u got that completely wrong!!it should be more like:
        janani: ‘kazhade ku theriyuma karpoora vasanai’,cannot enjoy cinema the way it s meant to be enjoyed,soem critic!!aaarrrgghh!!

        karthik: ah!! i knew this was coming!! but was hoping against hope that u would not say this:( watever!!

        (man..all for thinking u understand girl talk!!)
        :))

Comments are closed.